Admiring the Sunrise on January 1, 2016

IMG_20160101_064005897

In January 2015 I read the post ‘New Year: My One Word for 2015 and Why I Can’t Leave 2014 Behind’ by Lily Ellyn. Lily started the blog post by narrating a practice in Korea. Quoting from Lily’s blog: ‘In Korea people don’t stay up until midnight to ring in the New Year. Instead, they get up in the middle of the night and they hike a mountain. They climb through the dark, snowy pre-dawn hours and when they reach the top they stand with their faces to the sky to greet the first sunrise of the New Year.

On reading this post I got inspired to not to stay awake until midnight on December 31st 2015 but wake up early morning on January 1st 2016 and witness the sunrise at Elliot’s Beach, Chennai. Somehow the thought stayed in mind throughout 2015. I have enjoyed viewing many a sunsets at Marina Beach, Elliot’s Beach (both at Chennai), Hussain Sagar Lake (Hyderabad), Pennar River (Nellore), etc. but have witnessed very few sunrises, being a late riser. I have been trying for quite some time to wake up early but have not able to implement it. By the second half of 2015 I was waking up early but not as early as I wanted to.

As the New Year approached I was doubly determined to view the sunrise on New Year’s Day. On 29th December one of my friend who is settled in Abu Dhabi called me and informed that he is in Chennai. We decided to meet for Dinner on December 31. Our families met at his place at around 7 PM and from there proceeded to a restaurant at 8.30 PM. Our respective families were meeting after more than 2 years and it was a wonderful get together. My daughter and my friend’s daughter enjoyed each other’s company very much. Post dinner as we were getting back home, the traffic jams due to mad rush of bikers proceeding to beach fronts for mid-night celebration ensured that we got back home only around mid-night. I think I slept around 12.45 AM but set the alarm for 5 AM but was not sure whether I will wake up so early.

However to my pleasant surprise I woke up at 5 AM, got ready and proceeded to Elliot’s Beach. A lot of morning people had already gathered at the beach front to witness the sunrise. But a thick blanket of clouds was playing spoilsport and ensured that there would not be a perfect sunrise. The sun which emerged from behind the clouds for a brief moment was very beautiful in reddish orange color. I took a few snaps at the beach front. Then I proceeded for my morning walk.

As I was returning home on my bike, I was determined to wake up early every day. When I reached home, I was pleasantly surprised to see that my wife had drawn a very nice New Year Kolam/ Rangoli at our flat’s entrance. I used a photo of the Kolam for my New Year Wish Blog Post. As the year progresses I am hoping to continue to wake up early and go for morning walks. Best Wishes to all of you for achieving all your goals and dreams in 2016. Have a Wonderful Year.

Note: I cam across a wonderful sunrise picture from January 1, 2016at Derwentvalleyphotography Blog. Enjoy the awesome sunrise photo.

Leave a Reply

